Waiting Game

T minus 4, 3, 2 weeks to become a mom,
As the days go by, I feel like a ticking time bomb.
Big belly, slow gait, and large my appetite became,
As I played the most rewarding waiting game.

Revised the notes of the Childbirth class we took,
And nervously flipped every Labor & Delivery book.
Effacement, Dilation and Baby’s Position
I feel by now I have graduated to be an Obstetrician.

How to change, how to nurse and many other,
But found no Youtube videos on how to be a mother.
Crib – check, Stroller – check and check for the car seat,
Shouldn’t God send babies home with an instruction sheet?!

Will he be a September born or a TENyu baby,
Will he be born tonight, tomorrow or next week maybe.
This unpredictability is making me so curious,
Will he over extend his invitation in Hotel Uterus?

Questions and doubts creep up my brain,
Is my body capable of handling this pain?
Will I just know when those contractions start,
Or will I bolt up only in the active labor part.

Suddenly I feel a loving kick in my rib,
Oh looks like the hero is awake in the belly crib.
“Ow”, I exclaimed, “calm down my rock star”,
How those kicks still fascinate me is so bizarre.

I hear a sweet voice from my heart,
Hi Ma, he said, let all your fears depart.
Have trust in the miracle that is birth,
Allow this beautiful process to show you its worth.

Let this birth be strong and empowering,
Remember mum, you and I are a team 🙂
After all, pain is always mind over matter,
So pull yourself away from this anxious chatter.

Your bundle of joy is awaiting your love,
Have faith and bow down to the heavens above.
So I breath and smile and feel the mirth,
And get ready to dance this amazing dance of birth!

Leave a comment